For the Acts of Parliament administered by the Dominion Department of Agriculture, see in the index "Acts of Parliament administered by Dominion Government Departments". For the publications of the Department, covering a wide field of information, see in the index the entry "Publications of Dominion Departments"

2.—Provincial Departments of Agriculture.

Prince Edward Island.—The Department is under the Minister of Agriculture, who supervises agricultural instruction, the agricultural and technical high school, the cheese and butter factories, and the women's institutes of the province.

Nova Scotia.—Agriculture in the Province of Nova Scotia is administered as a branch of the Department of Natural Resources. The administration of the Agricultural Branch is divided into fourteen main divisions:—(1) agricultural college, (2) demonstration farm, (3) agricultural societies, (4) exhibitions, (5) dairying, (6) poultry, (7) entomology, (8) horticulture, (9) apiculture, (10) soils and fertilizers, (11) agricultural extension service, (12) statistics, (13) markets, (14) women's institutes.

New Brunswick.—The branches of the Department of Agriculture of New Brunswick are as follows:—(1) industry, immigration and farm settlement, (2) elementary agricultural education, (3) agricultural societies and live stock, (4) dairying, (5) horticulture, (6) soils and crops, (7) poultry, (8) bee-keeping, (9) women's institutes, (10) agricultural representatives.

Quebec.—The Quebec Department of Agriculture includes the following branches: dairy, live stock, poultry, field husbandry, horticulture, bee-keeping and sugarmaking, domestic economy, publications, the Journal of Agriculture, county agents (agriculturists), entomology and plant pathology, the provincial laboratory and dairy school. Other important activities under the supervision of the Department are:—the agricultural societies and farmers' clubs, demonstration farms, demonstration fields, household science teaching, women farmers' clubs, co-operative agricultural societies, agricultural schools and the veterinary school.

Ontario.—The Ontario Department of Agriculture includes the following branches:—agricultural societies, live stock, institutes, dairy, fruit, co-operation and markets, statistics and publications, agricultural representatives, colonization and immigration. The Department conducts the Ontario Agricultural College, the Ontario Veterinary College and the experimental farm at Guelph, the Agricultural School at Kemptville, the Ridgetown experimental farm, the horticultural experimental station at Vineland and the demonstration farm at New Liskeard.

Manitoba.—The Manitoba Department of Agriculture includes an agricultural extension service, a dairy branch, a publications and statistics branch, a live stock branch, a game branch, a co-operative marketing branch, and a weeds branch. It also conducts the Manitoba Branch of the Employment Service of Canada.

Saskatchewan.—The work of the Department of Agriculture is chiefly administrative. It includes six principal branches:—live stock, field crops, dairy, bureau of statistics, game, co-operative organization and markets. The live stock branch provides the organization for examining and licensing stallions, purchasing and selling cattle, sheep and hogs to farmers on credit terms, registering brands for live stock and selling cultures for the prevention of black leg and other diseases of live stock. The field crops branch aids in promoting better crops and providing control measures for suppressing insect and weed pests. The exhibition work of the Department is also supervised by the branch. The dairy branch maintains a butter-